RSS

Political beliefs

26 Aug

I thought I should clarify a couple of things.

A number of people have started following my blog over the past couple of weeks and I think it’s important that I explain where I sit/stand/jump as far as my politics are concerned.

I’ve already covered this some time ago but I think it is important to cover it again.

My family were Labour Party members going back three generations. My Great-grandfather lost his job for trying to organise his workmates and then had to sell sticks for fires and vegetables depending on the time of year, from a handcart.

My Grandfather was a Labour burgh and county councillor for a long time and my Father was a Labour Party member and activist most of his adult life. Both my Grandfather and my Father supported the Labour Party because it was the party of the workingman. They believed that the Labour Party tried to improve the working mans lot subsequently helping each generation be more prosperous and better educated than the last. Labour people generally where always pleased when someone made progress and they were also very keen on education for their families even at that time when University wasn’t possible for at 80% of the population.

The dreadful strikes of the 70s and 80s caused them both to think hard about how, perhaps, some people had taken advantage of the Labour movement and things had maybe got out of hand. The miners strike closed the local mine and the town suffered due, not just the loss of jobs, to a loss of community which the miners facilitated.

My Grandfather was dead before Tony Blair took office and my Father was at the point of resigning from the party, when he became ill and died. He didn’t think that New Labour was a working mans party, far from it. He thought they had moved far too much to the right.

Due to what has transpired over the years I’m sure that all three of them are spinning in their graves. The Labour Party is no longer the party of the workingman, they are the yuppy and yummy mummy party. To their eternal shame, they have spawned Call me Dave son of Blair and have formed partnerships with the Tories. Animal Farm rings true then. Corruption in Glasgow and Edinburgh not to mention expenses scandals and the like shame the party as does the continuing lust for power for powers sake, although to be fair this stains all political parties currently.

Worst of all however, is the condescending way that the left talks down to people and stifles debate, doesn’t listen and from all levels of government piles additional costs on us all. PFI, taxes on taxes and worst of all from the global warming scam which has in effect allowed them to tax the air we breath out. The left lecture us on what we can and can’t say, what we can and can’t eat, smoke, drink and what weight we can and can’t be: this is obviously a very small percentage of the loss or rights and increasing controls we are required to live with.

In Scotland, the Labour Party clings on. It’s support is historical although not yet hysterical. The SNP have profited because of Labours arrogance at being THE party in Scotland according to the Labour Party and their lackeys, the BBC the quality newspapers etc.  The case for independence is stronger and more compelling because Labour failed to reverse the loss of jobs caused by the destruction of heavy and traditional industry over more than ten years! The heartland of their voters has suffered the worst. It’s a disgrace.

Currently there is no political party, which is left of centre or right of centre for that matter.  The Tories are no longer Tories, Labour are no longer Labour and the LibDems, well you can make your own mind up on them.

So there you have it. Scottish Independence is important to me since it will alter the Scottish political landscape significantly. Getting away from the grasping Westminster set should provide much improved opportunities for everyone living is Scotland regardless of being indigenous or not.

The best is yet to come. I think I’ll have the on my headstone. Well you have to believe in something and the above are mine for what they’re worth.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2012 in BBC, Politics, Scottish Independence

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Political beliefs

  1. argylesock

    August 26, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    I like it that you say ‘the LibDems, well you can make your own mind up on them’. I was a Lib Dem before we suddenly found our leader choosing which coalition to form, and I’m still a Lib Dem. I’m proud of what my party is doing. That includes being open to people making up their own minds.

    My blog on WP isn’t about politics as you know, but I choose to make this particular comment on your blog.

     
    • Tedious Tantrums

      August 27, 2012 at 8:25 am

      Thanks for your comment.

      I hope the Libdems don’t suffer at the ballot box next time round. A third force in politics is a good thing as far as I’m concerned, it wouldn’t be useful for things to return to two parties only.

      TT

       
      • argylesock

        August 27, 2012 at 11:00 am

        Yes, we’ll suffer no doubt. I think a lot of Lib Dem votes were protest votes by people who really wanted Old Labour or Green. But I honour Nick Clegg for rising to the challenge of finding that our party’s words about ‘preparing for power’ ended up being more than words. He’s a beginner at the job of running a country, and some of the Press are having fun being rude about him. But he’s a good leader in my opinion. These are difficult times and he’s doing a difficult job.

        I agree that it’s great to have more than two parties in mainstream politics.

         

Leave a Reply

 
