RSS

Transactions and death

09 Nov

A post from me. After a few weeks lay off and lots of jumping through hoops etc.  What have I learned about government and the death of our nearest and dearest?

Well I discovered the obvious. I should have known really..

At every step the government takes money from you. You have to pay for everything that comes along and they want to see specifically if they can tax the deceased also and to make sure that they have taken the tax they were entitled to up to the point of death too.

You pay for the certificates and registering the death. You pay for duplicate certificates. You pay for gaining the Executors Confirmation or probate in England. You pay to have the lair put into your name. You pay for the grave to be opened and for the council staff who attend.

The fact that the deceased will have been taxed to the moment of death isn’t mentioned. The fact that the deceased has probably paid tax more than once on the same money they originally earned isn’t mentioned.

The banks aren’t keen to let go of any money. The utilities people take forever to refund any over payments.

The whole things is about money first and doing the decent thing second.

There were glimmers of good stuff though. The Police were excellent.

My Mother had a budgie and had taught it to talk. It had quite a reasonable repertoire and probably chatted more than I do.

The Police came to the house to tell me that Mum had died and I drove through to meet with the police there and get things organised. There were two police officers at my Mothers when I arrived. One female and another who was male and obviously better suited to dealing with riots etc.

They waited for me to arrive in Mums lounge and at one point the budgie asked if they would like a piece of toast. The male officer got a huge fright. When I got there he was mega stressed. He couldn’t wait to be gone. I don’t blame him, death is seldom pretty.

I’ll finish with some words the minister provided. I wrote the eulogy which I’d intended to read but I chickened out a few days before the funeral since I couldn’t have managed reading it out and the minister read it out.

I did read the following words instead.

You may have read or heard them or something similar before –

As we look back.

As we look back over time

we find ourselves wondering….

Did we remember to thank you enough

for all you have done for us?

For all the times you were by our sides

to help and support us….

to celebrate our successes

to understand our problems

and accept our defeats?

Or for teaching us by your example,

the value of hard work, good judgement,

courage and integrity?

We wonder if we ever thanked you

for the sacrifices you made

to let us have the very best?

And for the simple things

like laughter, smiles and the times we shared?

If we have forgotten to show our

gratitude enough for all the things you did,

we want to say it now

and we are hoping that you knew all along

how much you meant to us .

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Transactions and death

  1. Rob Skinner

    November 9, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    A lovely, moving post. I have been thinking of you and your loss these past few weeks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
